The Food and Drug Administration approved Juvmo (tavapadon) on September 28, 2026, clearing AbbVie’s once-daily pill as the first drug in a new pharmacological class for Parkinson’s disease: a selective agonist of the D1 and D5 dopamine receptors, rather than the D2/D3 receptors targeted by existing dopamine agonists such as pramipexole and ropinirole. AbbVie says the drug will reach U.S. pharmacies in October 2026.
Tavapadon is approved for adults with Parkinson’s disease, taken once a day either on its own in early-stage disease or alongside levodopa, the decades-old drug that remains the backbone of Parkinson’s treatment but that loses effectiveness and causes involuntary movements (dyskinesia) as the disease progresses. By working through a different receptor pathway, AbbVie is positioning tavapadon as an option both for newly diagnosed patients not yet on levodopa and for those already struggling with levodopa’s motor fluctuations.
What the trial program actually shows
The approval rests on four Phase 3 studies known as TEMPO. TEMPO-1 and TEMPO-2 were randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trials in patients with early Parkinson’s disease not yet taking levodopa. At 26 weeks, tavapadon (5-15 mg) improved the MDS-UPDRS Part II scale, which measures patients’ activities of daily living, by 1.6 to 1.7 points relative to placebo in TEMPO-1 (placebo group worsened by 0.9 points, p<0.0001) and by 1.5 points in TEMPO-2 (versus no change on placebo, p=0.0007). On a combined measure of daily activities and motor function (Part II+III), the gap over placebo was larger still: 9.7 to 10.2 points in TEMPO-1 and 10.3 points in TEMPO-2 (both p<0.0001).
TEMPO-3 tested tavapadon as an add-on to levodopa in patients already experiencing motor fluctuations. Over 26 weeks, patients on tavapadon gained 1.7 hours of daily “on” time without troublesome dyskinesia, compared with 0.6 hours on placebo (p<0.0001), and cut their “off” time — periods when medication isn’t controlling symptoms — by 1.9 hours versus 0.9 hours on placebo (p=0.0006).
TEMPO-4, an 85-week open-label extension, reported that 94% of patients who started on tavapadon alone (257 of 273) had not yet needed to add levodopa, and 93% of those on tavapadon plus levodopa (96 of 103) had not needed to increase their levodopa dose.
Where the evidence has limits: the placebo-controlled comparisons run to 26 weeks; the reassuring numbers on delaying or limiting levodopa come from TEMPO-4, which is open-label — meaning patients and investigators knew who was getting the drug, a design that tends to inflate favorable outcomes compared with a blinded trial. AbbVie’s materials do not report the enrollment size of TEMPO-1, TEMPO-2 or TEMPO-3, and there is no head-to-head trial against existing D2/D3 agonists, so it is not yet possible to say whether tavapadon actually outperforms the drugs already on the market rather than simply differing in side-effect profile.
Side effects
In patients taking tavapadon without levodopa, the most common adverse events (at least 5% incidence) were nausea, headache, dizziness, fatigue, altered taste (dysgeusia), vomiting, dry mouth and anxiety. Added to levodopa, the profile shifted to include dyskinesia, hallucinations and orthostatic hypotension (a drop in blood pressure on standing) alongside nausea, dizziness and headache. AbbVie’s safety summary also flags impulse-control problems — compulsive gambling, eating, shopping or increased sex drive — a known class effect of dopamine agonists. Most adverse events were described as mild to moderate.
What isn’t known yet
AbbVie has not disclosed a price. Safety data beyond the 85-week extension isn’t available, so longer-term risks, including the durability of the impulse-control and psychiatric effects, remain unmeasured. The company’s release does not state whether tavapadon has been studied in children, and exact per-trial enrollment figures were not published in the materials reviewed for this article.
AbbVie’s chief scientific officer, Roopal Thakkar, called the approval “the first dopaminergic breakthrough for Parkinson’s disease in decades.” Hubert Fernandez, a Cleveland Clinic neurologist and TEMPO investigator, said the drug “addresses a longstanding need for innovation” by targeting a different receptor pathway. Brian Fiske of the Michael J. Fox Foundation, a Parkinson’s research nonprofit, described the approval more cautiously as “an important milestone in building a diverse treatment pipeline” — one option added to a growing list, not a replacement for existing care.
Why it matters beyond this one drug: most dopamine agonists approved for Parkinson’s over the past three decades have worked through the same D2/D3 receptor family, and clinicians have had limited ability to switch patients to a genuinely different mechanism when side effects or diminishing returns set in. Whether a D1/D5-selective drug meaningfully changes outcomes — rather than just adding a new option with a different side-effect trade-off — will depend on real-world use and longer follow-up than the trial program has produced so far.
This article is general information, not medical advice; patients should discuss treatment options with their own neurologist.
Source: AbbVie, “U.S. FDA Approves AbbVie’s JUVMO™ (tavapadon) for Parkinson’s Disease,” September 28, 2026.
